Seoul Delicious – Tosokchon Samgyetang

안녕! I’m back! I guess you can guess where I just came back from, that’s right it’s Seoul! Arrived back in SG in the wee hours yesterday & I can’t wait to share the good food that I tried there. 20160614_101813Drum roll Introducing TOSOKCHON SAMGYETANG (Ginseng chicken soup). The restaurant is well-known for their Ginseng Chicken soup, and apparently it is something you should try in Korea.

How to get there: Alight at Gyeongbokgung Palace Station, Seoul Subway Line 3 (The line is in orange on the subway map), come out from exit 2 & walk straight for about a minute and turn left when you see the blue sign ‘Jahamun-ro 5-gil’, & you will see the restaurant in another few steps. (Really easy to find no worries)

There wasn’t any Q when we were there, so we managed to get seats the moment we were there. Thank god because I saw a lot of reviews saying there was always long Q, but luckily not for our case. But we went for brunch at around 11am, so probably it wasn’t peak hour yet as well. 20160614_101853

The restaurant had 2/3 sections, and the staff directed us to the middle section, I think it was because we are tourists, as the customers in the same section were all tourists, and it’s probably easier for the staff who can speak Mandarin to focus on working in the section. 20160614_111231

20160614_102056

We ordered the Tosokchon Samgyetang to share, which cost KRW16,000, as well as a Haemul Pajeon (seafood & green onion pancake) which cost KRW15,000! Apparently many of the other customers ordered the roasted chicken as well, but I don’t think we can finish so much food so we give it a miss. But I’d probably try it next time!20160614_103028Flip to the next side of the menu & it actually give you instructions on how to eat Samgyetang. The side dishes (kimchi & radish) are there for all you can eat 😀 I personally prefer kimchi to radish in korean food, & from what I know their kimchi are for sale as well if you would like to bring some home! 🙂20160614_102316

The lead is here! The legendary Tosokchon Samgyetang! Honestly I had a dilemma before I came here, as to whether I should try this, because I really dislike traditional medicine/herbs etc, and hearing the ‘Ginseng’ in the soup makes me think that this soup is gonna taste like the usual herbal soup bleh20160614_103314

But NO! The soup proved that I was worried for nothing, because the soup did not even have any taste of traditional herbs (although there was a really big piece of Ginseng in it)! Besides the really tender meat that just fall off from the bone (Makes it easier to eat too), I was surprised that there were stuffing in the chicken! As you can see there’s glutinous rice in it, and other stuff like wolfberry, chestnut (if I remember correctly) etc. The soup was not too oily & tasted just right for me. 20160614_103720

This seafood pancake is reallyyyyyy good, usually when I have similar ones at other restaurants, I get sick of the taste after a pieces or two, but this one, even before I knew it, I already finished half of it! Luckily I was sharing with my girl-friend, if not finishing the whole plate would be so sinful hehe.20160614_103756

The pancake is crispy yet soft on the inside, and I love spring onion, so the spring onions in it really added much fragrant to the pancake. & the seafood filling would include prawns and squid! No weird smell of seafood or what at all!:)

20160614_103803

& before I forget, you will see this little cup on your table once seated, this is actually ginseng wine, for you to add to your ginseng soup for more flavors if you like. Me & my girl-friend tried a sip for fun, & we concluded that it really wakes you up if you are sleepy or having hangover (& yes, only a sip will do, imagine the taste).20160614_111334

For any reason if you really do like the ginseng liquor, it’s for sale too (really big bottle)!KRW 10,000 approximately SGD11.50.20160614_111525

I’m glad that I tried the soup because it’s really good stuff, for you guys out there who dislike traditional herb taste like me, don’t worry at all, I promise you there’s no slight taste of herbs at all! I’ll definitely come back here again next trip!BeautyPlus_20160614115358_saveDid you notice, the Starbucks  behind is written in Korean! This is the only outlet there that have Korean Starbucks, it’s just opposit the road when you walk to the restaurant, do grab a cup of coffee & take a touristy photo there too yeah! 😀

More good food post coming up, but that’s all for now!

Toksokchon Samgyetang:

5, Jahamun-ro 5-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul
서울 종로구 자하문로5길 5 (체부동)

About Packpackgo

Part Time Traveler, always on the go!
This entry was posted in TRAVEL and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

